Café Piper

The idyllic summer café with the best view of Suomenlinna has been serving visitors since 1928!

Piperin keltainen kahvilarakennus aurinkoisena kesäpäivänä edestäpäin kuvattuna.

For almost a hundred years, visitors to Suomenlinna have enjoyed coffee, refreshments, sweet and savory treats while admiring the magnificent sea view and enjoying the park-like surroundings.

Kukkakranssin läpi kuvattu kahvilan terassialue pienen mäen laella, jossa avautuu näkymä merelle.


Our selection includes small savory and sweet pastries, as well as soft drinks and coffee.

On weekdays, we offer a light lunch. You can find the up-to-date lunch menu on Instagram, at the bottom of the page.

We also serve beers from the Suomenlinna Brewery.

From our product range, you will find excellent and tasty snacks to take to the beach or park.

Quote for a group

Pellavaliinalle katettu kahvipöytä auringonvalossa.

Opening hours

From 11th of May to September:

Daily at 11:00-17:00

In addition, from June 21st to August 10th, Fridays and Saturdays at 11:00-18:00

Please check the Suomenlinna opening hours and events calendar for any exceptions to opening hours.

Suomenlinna calendar

Volker von Boninin kesäkuussa 1960 ottama kuva perheestä, joka istuu Piperin kahvilan terassilla merinäköalalla.


Café Piper is located in the middle of the beautiful Piper’s Park at Susisaari.

It takes approximately 15–20 minutes to walk from Suomenlinna ferry pier to Café Piper along the blue route.


The Story of Café Piper

Café Piper, maintained by the Ehrensvärd Society, has been serving summer visitors in the best location of the fortress since 1928. In the 1700s, where the café building now stands, there was a wooden gazebo resembling an ancient miniature temple. Located prominently in Piper’s Park, it was an important part of the park’s overall design. The stone-built fortress needed greenery to balance the defensive walls. The original gazebo had to make way for the new one in 1874. The new building served as a summer residence for officers and as a Roman Catholic chapel.

In 1928, the Ehrensvärd Society completed a new café building. The dilapidated chapel was demolished, except for the basement, and the current café building, designed by A.W. Rancken, was built on the old foundations.